Asan Memorial College of Engineering & Technology is one among the institutions under the Asan Group of Educational Institutions. These institutions are governed by the Asan Memorial Association – Chennai, which was established in 1965 as a tribute to the memory of Mahakavi Kumaran Asan, the late poet laureate of Kerala. Then founding members of the Association consisted of eminent Malayalees, settled in Chennai, from different walks of life such as industrialists, educationists, film personalities and social workers who were devoted and highly dedicated to the noble cause of education. The Founder Secretary of the Association, Shri A. K. Gopalan continues to be the guiding star and moving spirit behind the Asan Memorial Educational Institutions.

Having successfully embarked upon and achieving considerable progress in promoting educational activities, the Asan Memorial Association has now to its credit the following list of institutions:

1. Asan Memorial Dental College & Hospital
2. Asan Memorial College of Engineering & Technology
3. Asan Memorial College of Arts & Science
4. Asan School of Visual Communication
5. Asan School of Catering and Hotel Management
6. Asan Memorial Institute of Business Management
7. Asan Memorial Senior Secondary School (CBSE)
8. Asan Memorial Matriculation Higher Secondary School
9. The Carousel – Asan Play School
10. AKG Public School